Full online resources descriptions: Click on the resource title to access.
Academic One File – Source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources in all subjects, including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
CDL - Ancestry Library Edition – In Library Only – US and UK census records; passenger lists; birth, marriage and death records; and other genealogy material.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Biographical entries from more then 1,000 reference sources, totaling citations that point to nearly 5 million people from all time periods and geographical locations.
CDL - Biography In Context - Nearly 414,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people as well as full-text articles from more than 265 magazines chosen for their biographical content in a broad range of subject areas.
Books and Authors - Recommended for: General user, Reading advice. A database to help you decide what to read next. Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author, and series. Includes over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner, and librarian's favorites lists. Titles include both fiction and non-fiction. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
Books and Literacy Gateway - Recommended books, book finding aids, and author sites and resources compiled by MeL.
Business and Company Profiles ASAP - Profiles of 150,000 companies, plus full-text articles on topics including companies, products, markets, economics, and management.
Business Decision - Access comprehensive business-to-consumer market data. Detailed company profiles, product and brand information combined with investment reports, rankings and market share data allow users to better penetrate the consumer marketplace.
Business Insights: Global - Company information, including profiles, histories, investment reports, rankings, and links to articles and web sites.
Business Gateway - Recommended business sites and resources compiled by MeL.
ChiltonLibrary - Convenient online access to the most widely used set of auto repair manuals, covering domestic and foreign cars made in the past 30+ years.
Computer Database - Articles from publications about the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. (1980-present)
CDL - Consumer Reports - Immediate online access to print issues of Consumer Reports Magazine as well as special online-only content. Important information about choosing the best products and services available. Make better purchasing decisions using product reviews, ratings, news and comparisons from Consumer Reports Magazine.
Culturegrams - Upper Elementary through High School and general user. Full-text.A leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe.
DemographicsNow: Business & People - Comprehensive demographic, business and residential data with custom tools for reporting and analysis.
eBooks - Recommended for: General user. All full text. Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only. Netlibrary users ALERT--the collection has changed its name to eBooks. Along with the name change come access changes as well. Personal usernames and passwords will no longer work.Logging in from MeL.org remains the same.
eLibrary Elementary – A colorful, graphical search interface helps kids find answers from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, web links, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies. Aimed at students in grades K-6.
eLibrary - Recommended for: Upper Elementary through High School. Full-text (1981-Present). Find over 2000 articles, ebooks, transcripts, photos, websites, focused multi-media, maps and reference sources such as almanacs and encyclopedias.
ERIC - (free version) -Recommended for: Educators, pre-service teachers and parents. Abstracts and/or Full-text. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
Expanded Academic ASAP - Full-text articles from 2,000 journals in all academic subjects, plus indexing from an additional 1,000 journals. For college students and adults. (1980-present)
FDSys (Federal Digital System) - Freely available materials. FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications which include Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Through FDsys, you are able to search, browse and download documents and publications.
Gale Directory Library - Provides access to Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in the U.S., Canada and Mexico, and Business Rankings Annual. Ward’s profiles over 113,000 U.S. companies, approximately 18,000 in Canada and approximately 33,000 in Mexico listing the industries in which it operates, names of top executives, number of employees, the type of company it is, and financial performance.
Gale LegalForms - Copies of actual forms and documents in Word format are provided to help users with their legal needs – whether for business, personal or litigation purposes. Continuously updated to reflect current state laws, Gale LegalForms also includes a law digest, legal questions and answers and an attorney directory.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - A collection of reference books, including the Gale Encyclopedias of U.S. Economic History, Alternative Medicine, Cancer, Medicine, Genetic Disorders, and Multicultural America, plus the Encyclopedia of Small Business; Beecham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America; the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; an encyclopedia of biology; and the World of Earth Science.
General Business File ASAP - Full-text business, industry, management, economics, investment, and company information from business and trade publications. (1980-present)
General OneFile – Full-text from 4,200 general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers. Also includes indexing of major newspapers and newswires.
General Reference Center Gold – General interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles. Includes selected articles from Crain’s Detroit Business (1993-present) and Detroit Free Press (2000-present).
Government Gateway - Recommended government sites and resources compiled by MeL.
Health Gateway - Recommended health and medical sites and resources compiled by MeL.
Health and Wellness Resource Center - Health-related articles from medical and general interest publications, encyclopedias, and directories.
Health Reference Center Academic - Journal and newspaper articles, newsletters, and overviews of various health topics.
HeritageQuest - Census records, family histories, an index to genealogy periodicals, and Revolutionary War era pension records, among other genealogy material.
Informe - Full-text articles from many of the most popular Spanish-language newspapers and magazines.
Jobs and Career Accelerator - Recommended for: General user. Easy-to-use online application combining everything you need for a successful job search. This innovative job hunting system enables users to explore, in detail, over 1,000 different occupations and match interests and skills with the career that’s best. It allows searches for over five million recent local and national job postings while conveniently organizing and tracking the users' job search progress, all in one place. In addition, job seekers can create professional resumes and cover letters as well as practice and master interviewing skills
Jobs Gateway - Recommended job sites and resources compiled by MeL.
Junior Edition - Magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles plus facts and other reference material. For middle schoolers.
Kids InfoBits - Information on a variety of subjects, plus magazine articles and images. Designed for students in grades K-5.
Kids Gateway - Recommended sites and resources for kids compiled by MeL.
Lansing State Journal - Comprehensive coverage (2002-Present) of articles, stories, columns, commentaries, reviews and more for the newspaper from the state capital of Michigan.
LearningExpress Library - Recommended for: General user. Interactive online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results. See these guides for job-specific resources in LearningExpress: Job Search Help Center andCareer Road Map. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
Legal Gateway - Recommended legal sites and resources compiled by MeL.
LegalTrac - 100 full-text and 1,300 indexed sources including law reviews, legal newspapers, and international legal publications
CDL - Literature Resource Center - Summaries and critical essays about thousands of works of literature, plus author biographies and links to literature web sites.
Making of Modern Michigan - A collaborative project by more than 50 libraries across Michigan with access to historical photographs, family papers, oral histories, and other genealogical material
CDL - Mango Languages – is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages.
MEDLINEPlus - (free version ) Recommended for: Patients and health professionals. Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators - Information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan.
Michigan Online Resources for Educators - Information and resources for educational professionals.
Michigan Voters Information - information on voting in Michigan. Search by name/birthday or Driver's License.
Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online - This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.
New York Times - The daily newspaper New York Times 1985-present. All full text.
Newstand– Full-text articles. A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Includes the New York Times (1985-current). Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
CDL - Novelist - Looking for something to read? NoveList has recommendations, reviews, plot summaries, and other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists.
Nursing Resource Center - Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context - is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
CDL - Reference USA – Addresses, sales and staffing numbers, and other information about 13 million U.S. businesses.
Secretary of State | ExpressSOS.com -Save time by conducting your Secretary of State business online. The state of Michigan offers a number of options to make doing business with the Secretary of State faster and easier.
SIRS Discoverer - Full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines and government documents. Aimed at students in grades 1-9.
SIRS Renaissance - A database of dynamic information on architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy, and visual arts, containing full test articles from 1,200 publications.
Small Business Resource Center - Recommended for: Small business owners/entrepreneurs and general user. Full-text. Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
Student Edition - Magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles plus facts and other reference material. For high schoolers.
Teens Gateway - Recommended sites and resources for teens compiled by MeL.
CDL - Tumblebooks - The TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence high-lighting and narration but no animation), Tumblebooks are created from existing picture books which are licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the Tumblebook format.
Turfgrass Information File - From the Michigan State University library’s Turfgrass Information Center and the United States Golf Association, this database has articles on landscaping, different kinds of grasses, and environmental factors.
WorldCat - (Free version) Let's us search the collections of libraris in your community and thousands more around the world.